RSS

Good Thing About Silence

04 Aug

We are already unmuted in my favorite game…yey!!! But I really don’t feel completely good about it for many reasons. These reasons have never occurred to me when the mute campaign started. But now that the campaign has ended, hmmm…I realized many things:

1st: If not with Mute, I will not be able to complete my collection of monster plants. In fact, without mute, I probably would not be able to give focus on breeding monster plants because all I would probably be doing is talk weird stuffs with others, and ignore the monsters. During mute season, when it was difficult to completely communicate with others, because all we were allowed to do is to use signs only, my concentration went to understanding the pattern of breeding. I was able to create a table and graph that analyzes the breeding pattern in order to get the type of breed you want or in order to upgrade the seed levels. In the end, I was able to create rooms with all types of breed and all types of colors, and more.

 

 

2nd: If not with Mute, I will not be able to complete some of my monster plant badges. While other badges are easy to get during Mute season, especially when you use the automatic boosting of points, the breeding/treating/killing badge isn’t. They are badges you cannot cheat, I once told Dani. You really have to treat plants to get the badge. You really have to own plants to breed. You really have to have bred plants in order to kill them. Among the badges to be achieved in Habbo, these can give more satisfaction since one has to really work for it. I congratulate my breeding friends, Dani and Cole for completing the breeding badge. I am still 500 breeding more to go to get the badge that means I am still about 3-4 weeks away based on the number of seeds I have. As for killing badge, I probably settle low, I don’t have the heart yet to kill all the plants I have collected, especially my very first green onion, which, as of this writing, is 71 days old already. Wanna beat that?

 

3rd: If not because of Mute, I will not be able to meet awesome people. Awesome, in the sense, that they can read behind the invisible lines. And I really love people who can read what you are trying to say, especially when you have limited words to mean something. For instance, you raise the number 6 sign. They understand then that you are looking for a level 6 plant. When you raise the yellow ticket sign, which is supposed to be utilized for the Habbo soccer games, they understood that they need to read what is written by you in the yellow sticky. Etc. etc. When limited chat came, I was more amazed by the minds of several people, both kids and not so kids, because in order for them to communicate, they really tried to create new words to be understood. The most funny of them all is the number 7. Raising the 7-sign is still possible, alright; yet, writing it down is easier. But typing “7” will result to locked characters; meaning, number 7 is illegal. So the next thing to do is to spell it out as “seven”. But “seven” is also illegal, we kept wondering why it is so. Then somebody wrote sea-van. It was confusing at first. But we get the hang of it, and sea-van became a norm to communicate number 7, even if it looks hilarious. But I write see-van instead…talk about ergonomics. The point here is, because of the effort to really be understood, players will get to spend a longer time with each other. So I ended up befriending more awesome people, those with really great common sense.

 

 

There are still more reasons I am thankful about The Great Mute. I have to admit I am mad at first, but I know something better cropped up during the silent season.

At any rate, I am still wondering why there was The Great Mute. The suspicious, paranoid, distrusting part of my brain keeps on telling me the problem is not about “Habbo”, but about “.com”. Sexual aberration issues are just used to shift focus from the real issue. Hmm…I think I’ll consider thanking Sulake for protecting its players during the mute season. If my suspicion is right, the company did not only protect its players from individuals with sexual peculiarities, they protected them more from the real monsters that threatened to destroy this world *serious*…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 4, 2012 in Habbo

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So what do you think?

 
